Three Brews Review

A couple of posts back I mentioned that I brewed three beers in three weekends.  Well, it’s been enough time in the bottle for most of them to discuss the flavors.

Welsh Ale c. 1800
This one is going to have to sit around for awhile to really evaluate.  But for now, the beer is sweet, malty, and has a certain bitterness that I think is from the grains of paradise.  The liquorice root was too old, I think, as it does not really come through in the aroma or flavor.  The molasses is prominant and pretty nice, but overall the beer needs to sit a little longer…perhaps much longer.

American Pale Ale with Ginger
I named this one Born Blind Pale Ale as it is good enough to name.  This is one of my favorite brews so far.  It’s crisp and bitter from the Chinook hops and refreshing with the noticable ginger aroma and flavor.  I used only one ounce of ginger and I think that is just about perfect.  I used .25 ounce of Chinook hops at the end of the boil and the aroma is present and slightly woody.  All in all a very nice beer.  Maybe it could have been hopped with Cascade at the end of the boil to add a little citrus to the ginger and caramel flavor, but it’s good as is.

Watneys Cream Stout
This one is a bit bland right now.  It could get a bit more roasty as is sits as I have experienced this before.  The flavors tend to meld together over time and roasty flavors can seem to emerge.  Right now though, it is a decent cream stout with noticeable roasty flavor and a creamy mouthfeel.  It could stand to be a bit thicker in the mouthfeel, but as it warms in the glass, this becomes more apparent.  Nice, low alcohol stout.

So there you go.  I will hopefully write a review of the two newest batches that I just bottled in the months to come.

The Adequate Brewer

Tags:


