Another Wave of Brew

I just finished bottling two batches brewed within a few days of each other.  I had some time off work, so why not brew.  I found some Wyeast VSS strains (Biere de Garde, Farmhouse, and French Saison) at the local store and snapped up all that they had.  So, on to the brews…

Biere de Garde
This one is a modification of one of the recipes in Farmhouse Ales by Phil Markowski.  I modified it by reducing everything to be a 1.060 OG. beer instead of a 1.070 OG. beer.  I like the way the recipes are written in that book because everything is a percentage of the whole.  So as long as all percentages stay the same (or close) you can raise or lower the OG, and still come out with close to the same taste…just more or less alcohol.  At least this is how my brain thinks about it.  I could be wrong.

Scottish 70/-
I think I finally got a Scottish ale that is going to taste right.  I’ve brewed two others that have just not been very interesting.  They were really just nearly flavorless brown-ish ales.  This one at bottling time had some roasty, almost smokey taste and aroma.  I think I used a basic recipe from Brew Your Own, but I don’t remember which one.  Since I’ve been counter-top partial mashing, I have to adjust nearly all recipes to match my system.  Thankfully, Beersmith can handle this as I don’t want to do the math.

That’s about it from here.  I’ll post once I taste these two new ones…maybe.

The Adequate Brewer

Tags:


